Our Mayor

A lawyer by profession, Atty. Jose S. Espinosa III entered the political arena in 1989. He got his first mandate as one of the members of the City Council in 1989 and served for three (3) consecutive terms, with a total of nine (9) years.

During his incumbency as a City Council, Atty. Espinosa handled important standing committees, such as, the Committee on Appropriations, the Committee on Transportation, the Committee on Good Government (Blue Ribbon Committee) and the Committee on Trade, Commerce and Industry.

As Chairperson of these committees, he pioneered and sponsored a lot of legislative measures that helped improved the governance of the City of Government, highlights of which are the following:
As Chairman of Committee on Appropriations: – Revised the Tax Incentive Code of Iloilo City
As Chairman of Committee on Transportation: &ndash Authored the revised ordinance establishing perimeter boundaries for provincial public utility vehicles entering the City of Iloilo
As Chairman of Committee on Good Government: – Principal author of the Personnel Selection Board Ordinance Of the City of Iloilo
As Chairman of Committee on Trade and Industry: – Initiated the endorsement of IT investors of the City to the Philippine Economic Zone Authority (PEZA) for tax incentives.

Currently, Atty. Espinosa is the incumbent Vice Mayor of the City of Iloilo, Now on his 2nd term. During his firs term (2010-2013), he introduced a lot of innovations to the City Council of Iloilo, such as, the computerization of records management, publication of SP Newsletter “Iloilo City Council Journal”, creation of the SP Website, the initiation of the conduct of a Paperless Session, and upgraded the facilities of the Secretariat Office, among others. Such modernization of the governance of the City Council was positively drastic that for the first time in its history, the City Council of Iloilo was named as the Outstanding Sanggunian in Highly Urbanized City Category(Regional Level) for the Year 2012 , as adjudged by the Department of the Interior and Local Government and the Philippines Councilor’s League.

Aside from his regular functions as the City Vice Mayor and Presiding Officer of the City Council, Atty. Espinosa is a part of the different working committees task to perform special mandates, such as, to name a few:

Chairman, Iloilo City Sports Council
Vice-Chairman, Anti-Poverty Council
Member, Overseas Filipino Workers Economic Council Of Iloilo City
Member, Iloilo City Disaster Coordinating Council

Atty. Jose S. Espinosa III is married to the former Ms. Gina Agnes Divinagracia Sarabia, and has four (4) children – Regine Amparo, Maria Patricia Bianca, Beatrice Mary Agnes, and Ma. Christina Isabel.